2016 PPA Nationals Results

National Program

Kevin Lacey wins PPA National Championship Randal Smith dominates APA field to win title

Roanoke, VA. Kevin Lacey of Cincinnati, OH won his second National Championship title and 10th major tournament with a two stroke victory over a professional field of 75 players with a twelve round score of 297, 135 under par at the playing of the 57th annual PPA National Championship in Roanoke, VA the week of September 19 – 23rd.

Lacey entered the final round one stroke behind Wade Sahmel of Huffman, TX who aced his final eleven holes in round eleven to take a one stroke lead over Lacey and 2010 National Champion Greg Newport of Cincinnati, Ohio and two strokes ahead of 2 time National Champion Andy Coradini of Soddy Daisy, TN.

Playing in the pairing ahead of Sahmel, Lacey posted a 13 on the front nine which was matched by Sahmel to maintain a one stroke lead. Coradini and Newport were tied two strokes behind with nine to play. After all players aced the 10th hole and missed the 11th Lacey aced the final seven holes to apply the pressure. Samhel missed the 12th and needed to match Lacey ace for ace the rest of the way to force a play-off. When Sahmel’s putt missed on 16, Lacey’s victory was secure.

Finishing third and fourth were Coradini and Greg Newport. Former National Champions Randy Reeves of Montgomery AL, Rick Baird of Charlotte, NC, Greg Ward of Atlanta GA and Robert Johnson also of Atlanta finished fifth thru eighth place while Brian Johnson of Ft Wayne IN and Danny McCaslin of Holly Springs, NC completed the top 10.

Randal Smith of Stoneville, NC dominated the APA field to win his first National Championship title with 17 stroke victory over local APA player and former APA National Champion Clayton Craft. Smith also was the recipient of the APA player of the Year award for 2016.


(Pictured left to right) Randal Smith, Clayton Craft, Putt-Putt Host Owner David Mitchell, Wade Sahmel, Kevin Lacey

Nichols and Pinotti Defend Doubles Pro Title

Craft and Anderson win Doubles APA Title

“We just play well together” is an under statement made by Double Team Champion member Jerry Pinotti as the dynamic team of Nate Nichols and Jerry Pinotti won their 4th doubles team championship with a three shot victory over the Tennessee team of Sid Davis and Kevin Rutledge.

Clayton Craft and Scott Anderson, both of Virginia won the APA team title with an 11 shot victory over the 12 team APA field.


Rick Culverhouse win Seniors PPA Pro Title
James Chastain wins Seniors APA Title

Rick Culverhouse of Sebring, FL won the PPA Senior National Championship with a three shot victory over Angelo Koroganios of Columbus, OH. With the seniors age increased to ages 60 and above, the field of 22 senior competition was played simultaneously with the PPA National Championship first eight rounds of competition.

James Chastain of Atlanta, GA won the APA senior crown with a ten shot victory over Jim Last of Fernandina, FL. Chastain’s final two rounds scores of 21,22 were the lowest two consecutive rounds of any player during the entire week of competition.

Greg Newport wins TPC Pro Title
Randal Smith wins TPC APA Title

Greg Newport earned a hard fought TPC title with a come from behind victory in the playing of the Tournament Players Championship. Newport’s final round of 22 over came a three shot lead by Greg Ward of Atlanta, GA who shot a final round of 26 to finish in second place.

Randal Smith, who shot an opening round of 21, won the APA title with a five shot victory over Clayton Craft.

$6,000 to Children’s Miracle Network


“Thanks So Much To Kroger For Making Miracles Happen”

The 2016 PPA Kroger Pro / AM Charity tournament raised more than $6,000 for Carilion Children’s Hospital and the Children’s Miracle Network.

“Thank’s to the PPA players, local sponsors and Kroger’s for their donations and commitment to this great and worthy cause” say’s David Mitchell, Putt-Putt host owner. “Thanks so much to all donar’s of this event and helping us to continue making miracles happen at our local Children’s Miracle Network Hospital.”says LeeAnn Linkenhoker, event planner with the Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals.


The Kroger Company Pro/Am Representatives. Thanks Tim, Ryan, Manfred and Tim for your generous donation and time. We enjoyed having you in Roanoke.


Award Winners

Player of the Year

Pro Division: Joe Lea, League City, TX

APA Division: Randal Smith, Stoneville, NC

Tracy Moore Stroke Average

Joe Lea, League City, TX 25.17

Sportsmanship Award

Pro Division: Tim Jones, Hot Springs, AR

APA Division: Charles “Sharkey” Cox, Lake Charles, LA